Tonight, at the beautiful Greek Theater in Griffith Park, I attended what was my 9th Death Cab For Cutie concert. I’ve noticed in the past that every time I leave one of their shows I feel so cleansed. So fantastic. So complete. And the only difference from tonight versus all the rest was tonight was the best time I’ve ever seen them live, and when the lights came up… I felt so clear. It was strange, but I’m chasing the feeling.



Mates of State and Spoon opened and both we’re pretty fantastic. Mates of State is just plain cute, and Spoon was great fun. But I’m not gonna lie… my eye was on the prize. There’s been too little Death Cab in my life and too many clouded nights and I needed this. The set was outstanding. They had these big cut-outs of bare trees in the background and two odd looking little houses on either side of the stage. It reminded me a lot of the Directions DVD, which was cool. One thing I love that they do live is they put these insanely powerful and bright lights on the stage that literally just bathe the audience in lighting and you can close your eyes and just feel the greens and blues and reds wash over your body as the notes and lyrics creep into your ears and crawl through every inch of your insides. And for a little bit, everything is okay. You’re healed. And you’re fine. And you’re happy.



They opened with 405 and I knew everything was going to go according to plan. And they played everything. Almost every album, including Something About Airplanes, got some attention. “Company Calls” was outstanding. It was SO nice to hear “President of What?”. “Title and Registration” and “The Sound of Settling” were better than ever… but when they started playing “Tiny Vessels,” I knew what was next. On the album, Transatlanticism, there exists a magical grouping of songs that Graham Taylor called “The Triforce” because it just is. Tiny Vessels bleeds into Transatlanticism and that leads beautifully into Passenger Seat, and it works so well. It’s beautiful. Please listen to these three songs in a row the next time you get a chance. I’ve only heard them do the complete Triforce once, and tonight they just did Tiny Vessels into Transatlanticism. But holy cow.



“Transatlanticism” must be one of my top 5 all-time favorite songs ever. It’s so beautiful. And so perfect. Yet so simple. So, so simple. And every time I hear that ending I get the chills and I feel weak.



I cannot accurately describe what this band means to me. I cannot accurately describe exactly what went through my mind tonight when I heard the first chord of “Transatlanticism”. I cannot describe the way it feels to be totally wrapped in sound and under the spell of something so beautiful.



But what I can accurately describe is that right now, in this very moment, everything is okay.




The atlantic was born today and i’ll tell you how…
The clouds above opened up and let it out.

I was standing on the surface of a perforated sphere
When the water filled every hole.
And thousands upon thousands made an ocean,
Making islands where no island should go.
Oh no.

Those people were overjoyed; they took to their boats.
I thought it less like a lake and more like a moat.
The rhythm of my footsteps crossing flood lands to your door have been silenced forever more.
The distance is quite simply much too far for me to row
It seems farther than ever before
Oh no.

I need you so much closer

I need you so much closer


So come on, come on.

