Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

“…To be the best Rickey Henderson that Rickey Henderson can, or will, or want to be, as Rickey Henderson qualifying in a Rickey Henderson-esque type of way…”

When I was born, my great-grandmother (Tata) sent my parents some money. And with that money my dad bought me my first baseball glove, because Tata loved baseball, especially the Yankees, where Rickey Henderson occupied Left Field for four seasons during the 80s. The glove lasted me from about age 4 to 6, but I later upgraded to my favorite baseball player, Darryl Strawberry, because if I remember correctly, I really liked his name. Come to think of it, this is how I formed most of my “favorite athletes” when I was younger. My two favorite basketball players were Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (because Kareem sounded like cream cheese to me) and Magic Johnson, because who doesn’t love magic?

And that’s the Rickey Henderson post.

