I’m just as shocked as you are to see such a new feature get so much attention in its first week of existence, but I’m not complaining, especially because this installment is especially special. For you see, Sea Foods has ventured East. The Far East, to be exact, and I took a chance cooking dinner for me and my sister, Emily (an incredibly finicky eater, especially when I make it. I personally think she’s just being difficult). No bother, the family wasn’t home last night and we weren’t quite Han Solo for dinner, but it was up to me to restore order in the galaxy, the kitchen and our tummies.
And I think I did a pretty good job.

I headed down to Albertson’s where the good people there sold me chicken breasts, veggies, ingredients for egg flower soup and Dryer’s newest ice cream flavor, Hollywood Cheesecake (cheesecake ice cream, with strawberry and graham cracker swirl. Um. Yum. Buy it).

Upon returning home I got to work in the kitchen. I felt really Iron Cheffy, except I wasn’t nearly as confident with what I was doing, especially since Emily is my biggest critic with anything coming out of the kitchen.

Well, hardy har har, Miss Emily! You ate all your food!!

I was able to some how pull off a delicious egg flower soup:
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

And I really think you should make some. It’s worth the stress and trouble just to put in the egg at the end and watch it “flower.” Totally kick ass.

And then the stir fry. I made up some garlic, soy sauce, peanutty sauce to stir fry my chicken in and then when that was good and cooked, I took out the chicken but left in the sauce and added a heaping tablespoon of minced garlic to accompany the veggies. Broccoli, snow peas, water chestnuts (yum), green peppers, cabbage and carrots. Delish. When the veggies were saturated enough with sauce, the chicken went back in for a few more minutes until it was all nice and hot.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Though the soup was filling, I was in love with this dish. The veggies were saucey, but not too soggy and the garlic went well with everything. It didn’t need any soy sauce at the end, which was a good sign and anything Asian tastes good all mixed up with some good rice.

So there you have it. Not sure when our next installment will be, but here’s hoping it’s worth blogging about 🙂

Til next time, eat up, Kiddos.

