I don’t think I am what you would call the “biggest” Rufus fan. I just never got into it that much, and always thought he was kind of an ass, to he honest. Kind of the same reason I do not like Ryan Adams. Nope. Not at all. Thanks for playing.

ANYWAY, I never really respected him as a person, but I have always at least appreciated his brilliance and creativity as a musician.  When I first heard “Oh What A World,” I immediately fell in love with his musicianship as he included the theme from one of my favorite classical pieces ever, Ravel’s “Bolero.” Staggering. Gorgeous. Incredible. Also, the sentiment of that song is just amazing (“Wouldn’t it be a lovely headline? ‘Life Is Beautiful,’ On the New York Times. Oh, what a world we live in.”). And that’s what I think I can learn to like about Rufus. His lyrics truly speak to the reality of things, and even his songs that can be called more “self-indulgent” (and believe me, I think A LOT of it is) the lyrics (for the most part) are, at their root, are about a lot more than being the gay messiah.

So, last Sunday when I was in Barnes and Noble browsing around, I saw a free CD that had the single off Rufus’ album put out today, Release The Stars. It was free. I picked it up and if I hated it, I’d pass it on to my friend Adam who is a HUGE Rufus fan. The track is titled “Going to a Town,” and speaks volumes to the “Oh What a World” mentality we visited on Want One.

Sometimes, and I know we’ve all been there, you read the news, or you see something on TV and it shakes you to your core that this is what humanity has become. I’d be lying if I said that every once in a while I didn’t feel pretty dejected by the state of the world we live in. Certainly there are the good parts of it all, but sometimes it’s a verrrry bitter pill. And when I listen to “Going to a Town,” I hear that Rufus understands the composition of the pill that somedays just wont go down.

The song’s simple instrumentation of guitar, piano, bass and piano builds as strings dance in and out and an army of back up singers emphasize the pain that can only be compared to that of a broken hearted love song. The players are all here, and to me, that’s exactly what this is. A heart that’s been “burned”, “disgraced” and “let down” by the thing that should mend you and offer comfort in light of all that goes awry. This song speaks to the root of our unspoken fears that ‘America,’ has lost her luster, her glamour and her beauty.

Broken hearted, indeed, Rufus.

“You took advantage of a world that loved you well. I’m so tired of you, America.”

