I am an optimist. I always try to see the bright side and always try to understand that things aren’t as bad as they seem and there’s always a way to get better. Always.

That being said, it occurred to me last night as I was getting ready to re-watch last weeks’ Grey’s Anatomy so I could have it fresh in my mind, that I am indeed giving far too much credit to these last few episodes that have been “better” but aren’t quite where we were a little over a year ago. Or at the beginning of this season, for that matter (if you ignore that terrible premiere episode.). Grey’s just isn’t what it used to be and I don’t know if I can continue to mentally bail out the writers of the show because I want it to be a show that’s different than the rest. I want a show that doesn’t rely on parlor tricks and cliches to up its ratings and become more popular in its target audience. We have Desperate Housewives for a reason, Grey’s doesn’t need to join their club. Grey’s Anatomy has become everything I hate about television, a sterling example of the unoriginality and undeniable fate of television drama. Sex, stupidity and arrogance sells. Keep it up, guys.

So where do we go from here? Because where I’m sitting, there are two ways to look at these episodes. 1) Using the gold standard we’ve received in the past to judge and scrutinize every move they make, and in turn hating every fiber of its being. Or, 2) We can take it at face-value for what it is. Get over what they’ve given us in the past and find a way to press on through at least this Thursday’s season finale and hope that all these death sentences are for good reason.

I am an optimist.

I am also not retarded. I’m gonna call it like I see it.  After I get home from work.

