Hola!

So sorry that I haven’t been able to post anything thus far! But I have good excuses, I think. (This post shouldn’t yield anything too spectacular, as I need pictures to better illustrate.)

While we were working in La Blanca, the nearest place with cell phone reception and/or internet connection was about 50 miles away in Cotapeque, sooo… I got one trip to the internet cafe and it just so happened to be the slowest internet connection in the world, where my pages refused to fully load and when they did only partially load, it took 20 minutes to get there. It destroyed souls.

Anyway, La Blanca was interesting. Definitely an experience. There were 6 of us doing work in total and Dr. Love, of course, and his daughter Isabel. Days were long, hot, humid, and filled with dirt, sweat, artifacts, more heat and loads more humidity. Constantly sweating, constantly dirty. It was a great learning opportunity and I am glad to have done it, but it was definitely trying and difficult. I’ll have more to add and say when I get home and have a chance to upload and put some captions on photos.

(Speaking of photos… Go to the Flickr page and check out the pictures from The OhKy Trip and Gradchelation, too!)

Anyway, since last week, Lupe, Tracy and I were planning on leaving La Blanca a day or two early and getting a night or two in Antigua before we left Guatemala. But since Dr. Love had to go to Guatemala City on Tuesday, he offered to give us a ride here instead of us leaving us to navigate the very confusing bus routes (A fact I am very thankful for). So we got up here yesterday afternoon and I absolutely love the city. It’s gorgeous, with a lot of buildings from the 18th century and some newer ones that are painted in brilliant teals and yellows and pinks. It’s nestled in the mountains and all the streets are cobblestone with pockets of courtyards and parks filled with fountains and flowers. The white twinkle lights that line the streets at night make it a really beautiful and romantic place to be. We’re staying at the Hotel Aurora, which has adorable rooms and an absolutely breathtaking garden. ( I really want to live in a house that has a courtyard in the middle with a garden like that one. Whew.)

Last night we ate a delicious dinner (I had kind of a veggie soup thing with a tamale and some rice… not too exciting, but I am recovering from a cold that has made my voice say “adios”) and hung out a Reilly’s, “Guatemala’s ONLY Irish Pub” which is worked by a bunch of international students who come here for the summer. My Lonely Planet book said it’s the only place in Guatemala that you can buy Guinness, so I dragged the group over for that, only to discover that they were cleaned out of the Guinness (Our adorable Brit Bartender, who I have nicknamed “Harry Potter” told me that it was because that they “Have to get it from Panama… The Canal.”). Kind of a bummer, but we had a great time anyway and I think have decided that we’ll try and revisit tonight.

So far today we’ve walked around the markets, done a little shopping and I am hoping to visit some of the cathedrals this afternoon. This city is amazing and refreshing and I wish you were all here so you could see it, too. But pictures will be up hopefully sooner than later and you’ll see what I mean.

I miss you guys and am sorry that my internet hasn’t been as frequent as I had hoped, but please let me know what you’ve been up to! I’ll get to comments/e-mails and the like someday, but for now know that I’m sending loads of love from Guatemala.

Much love and talk soon!

