Well, I’ve been more than tied up since our last post. Upon returning from Guatemala I, got a car (The Mother Falcon. Photos coming soon. And photos from Guatemala, GOSH! I suck!), discovered that I have way too much crap and have been attempting to to pack said crap into the Falcon for a noonish departure time today. So far, not so good, but I did want to take the chance to make sure that I gave you all a brief update.

Last night a group of friends went to White Harte in Woodland Hills for some goodbye laughs, Guinness and Memory Lane strolls. I had an absolutely wonderful time with everyone, severely hurt this morning from laughing so hard, and I realize that I must be one of the luckiest girls in the world to have such incredible people in my life that I am lucky to call my friends. A group of us decided that we’re not quite ready to say our goodbyes yet, so lunch today on our way out is the plan. And as long as I get one more chance to cry tears of laughter into my food from watching George eat, I am so, so, so happy.

I am not at all looking forward to saying goodbye to my family. Just thinking about it now is giving me aches in my heart. They’re the most important people in the whole entire world to me and it’s going to be so incredibly hard not being able to see them whenever I’d like. I can’t imagine not talking Office or Grey’s Anatomy with Emily, or hurting from laughter thanks to the tag team of comedy that is Iain and Clayton. I’m going to miss Emily and Clayton’s track meets and beaming with pride when they finish a race, or read a story Emily wrote for the Courier on the day she brings home a copy and mom brings home fifteen to mail to relatives. I’ll really miss having to ask Clayton for my guitar back all the time, but knowing that it’s good when he steals it because he is a far better musician than I will ever be, and Lillian deserves to be played by someone like that every once in a while. I’ll miss Iain just popping in my room just to say “hi” but always having some crazy brilliantly crafted story about one of his friends that will put me in stitches. You will never meet better people than my brothers and sister. My parents raised them to be the kind, funny and intelligent people that I am madly in love with every day of the year. I got to be a big sister three times in my life and have tried my absolute best to be the role model and the friend they’re all more than worthy of having, one can only hope I’ve served them well.

Emily and Clayton are going into Senior year of high school, a fact that totally blows my mind, and the experiences they’re going to have and the amazing things they’re going to conquer makes me so incredibly happy and proud to be their sister. In the Fall, Iain starts at Ohio State and will be only an hour North of me, which will be the best present ever. He’s my bad ass of a baby brother and OSU isn’t going to know what hit it. These are the three most important people in the world to me. No way around it. I can’t possibly say it another way.

And I’ll miss talking music or current events with Dad and meeting up almost every night of the week to watch The Daily Show and The Colbert Report, knowing that we’re both going to start laughing at all the exact same parts. I’ll miss standing around the kitchen with Mom talking about what we’d heard on NPR or saw on Countdown, or going on errands and just talking with my very best friend. I know that they’re only a phonecall away, but there’s something to be said for being blessed with the most amazing family I could ever even dream of having and not being able to see them every single day, or know that no matter what has got me down, that smiles and all around feel-goodery is living right down the hall.

Now that I am officially water working, let’s get down to the facts:

Miss Silena and I are leaving today after lunch with friends for our journey East that will begin by heading North and spending the night in Davis with the wonderful and lovely Katrine and leaving there early tomorrow morning and hopefully making Salt Lake City. I promise you, as much as one can promise, that I will find ways to update you from the road. Possibly with pictures but most definitely with stories.

And on that note, I need to finish packing my clothes and getting off to breakfast at IHOP with Gabby.

To quote one of my personal heroes, Steve Zissou, “This is an adventure.”

To be continued.

(Have you ever heard the song “Living Without You” by Harry Nilsson? Goodness gracious, it’s beautiful. Please get it. Or let me send it to you.)

