The Darjeeling Limited trailer is officially online!!!!!

Right here! Please watch it!

The first Wes Anderson movie I ever saw was The Royal Tenenbaums. Drawn in originally by a cast that to this day cannot be beat, I stuck around for a style of film making and storytelling that became my absolute favorite. Since that day in 2001, Wes Anderson has been the number one filmmaker in my heart and there are so many reasons why. Probably first and foremost is the characters he uses to tell his stories. It’s rare to turn on a Wes Anderson movie and find a tale of triumphant people headed to the top of their game. Whereas so many other movies develop the character into something great, Anderson takes the next step and shows what happens after they peak at their greatness. Max Fischer, from Rushmore, is president or founder or involved in nearly every club on campus, wrote a “little one act” about Watergate at the age of seven, and is an alternate for the wrestling team. But he’s also “one of the worst students” at a school that clearly means more to him than anything, Rushmore Academy. The downward spiral of Max’s journey is painful, to say the least,  and while that sounds tragic and sad (and believe me, it can be), it’s truly a gift to be able to tell that story with humor and sweetness like Wes does. Another thing I really love about his movies is that they show the power of the people around you. It’s like a Beatles’ song, or something. When the world sticks it to the main characters and they’re thrust down in to the most painful of painful lows, friends, loved ones, and even the people you might have considered enemies are there to pick you back up to a place where you’re okay. And that’s a very beautiful thing. There’s an overwhelming amount of heart at the pit of all these stories, and it fills my heart to the brim, every time.

Also, the way that Anderson portrays a love story is absolutely gorgeous and touching. Anthony and Inez in Bottle Rocket? When you step back and really look at it, this should be the most awkward love story to have ever come to pass, and really, it is. But when you’re wrapped up in hotel sheets and in awe of how incredibly sweet and wonderful it all is to be in love like that, awkwardness doesn’t even come to mind. (One of my favorite scenes in that movie is when Anthony makes another attempt to call Inez from the party he’s at. “So… uh… word on the street, or should I say, rumor has it… that, well, you love me.” “Yes, I do.” And that’s my heart in a puddle on the floor, right there.)

Another thing that constantly mesmerizes me about his films is his careful attention to detail and set design. I think some of the most beautiful scenes that have ever been captured on film are in Wes Anderson’s movies. Probably my two favorite examples of this come from Tenenbaums and The Life Aquatic With Steve Zissou. In the Criteron Collection of Tenenbaums, the insert has a floor plan of 112 Archer Avenue, showing each room and little crevice in great detail. Every single thing is thought of and planned out how it should look, and that attention to detail is infinitely appreciated when you’re in awe of the design of each little thing on the screen. One of my favorite scenes in Zissou is when Steve very casually says (in a way that can only be done by Bill Murray) “Let me tell you about my boat.” and the screen pulls up to reveal this cut away vision of The Belafonte and Steve takes us on a tour of the ship that displays Team Zissou at its very best and most shameful. The brutal honesty that comes through in the set direction truly makes The Belafonte a character of its own. And I love that. When you can bring the inanimate objects around you to life with the life and vibrancy that Anderson does.

See what I mean? When I saw it in the movie, I felt like a little kid overwhelmed with Christmas for the very first time.

The reason I had to talk about all of these things is because it’s easier to say that I can see all of these things poking through in The Darjeeling Limited, and are all the reasons that it’s the movie I am currently most anticipating. I can see the tragedy and sadness of Owen Wilson, Jason Schwartzman and Adrien Brody’s brotherhood and characteristics. You can tell that this journey is going to take them through the highs and lows of everything under the Indian sun. And I like that. I like that I know this is going to hurt, but I know that the heart we’re going to find at the root of it all will be well worth it. His use of color and that careful attention to detail here is exactly what I’d expect from a movie like this and it’s going to be wonderful. I know I’m going to have to see it more than once to make sure I am able to take it all in.

Anderson’s films speak to a reality that is going to take you on an adventure of the highest degree. And it might hurt, it will definitely make you laugh, but in the end it’ll promise pick you up and embrace you like you’ve never been embraced before, all set to an amazing soundtrack and the most beautiful and whimsical colors and settings your brain can imagine.

So, that’s that. In a nutshell, it’s why I can’t wait to pay however much it costs to see The Darjeeling Limited.  

As Steve Zissou put it best, “This is an adventure.” It always is, Steve. It always is.

