When I was a kid, if you asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up, chances are my answer wouldn’t be something like “an astronaut,” but rather an array of fictional characters, top of the list being Samantha Stephens from one of my all time favorite TV shows, Bewitched (I still think that Elizabeth Montgomery is one of the most beautiful women to ever have lived.). Also, pretty close to the top of that list would be Get Smart‘s Agent 99 (played by Barbara Feldon), Maxwell Smart’s smart, sassy and and adorable secret agent wife and sidekick who was more often than not was the one who saved the day while dealing with husband and partner Maxwell’s zany antics and dumb luck. Even when I watch it now, I find this show to be totally fun and enjoyable.

There have long been rumors of a Get Smart big screen adaptation, and while I think this is a totally awesome idea, I was nervous of who they’d find to try and play Maxwell and 99.  I didn’t want someone too goofy for Maxwell, or too wimpy for 99. When I found out that one of my all-time favorites Steve Carell would be playing Maxwell, I knew we were in good hands. Even if Anne Hathaway, who I am less than crazy about, would be playing 99.

Carell is going to be incredible, and I’m sure Hathaway is going to be fine. It’s not that I especially don’t like her, I just don’t think she’s anything special. Sue me.

Anyway, the movie looks hilarious, as you can tell by this preview. Don Adams, who is infinitely missed and adored, would totally approve. Barbara Feldon, might not approve of the massive amount of eye makeup they’ve slapped on 99, but whatever. The Rock is an odd choice, but apparently he’s a real actor now, so I’ll let that slide. And Alan Arkin!!! As The Chief!! That’s how you cast a movie, right there!!

But, perhaps the coolest little rumor I’ve heard yet about this movie is that my all-time comedy hero, Bill Murray, will be playing Agent 13, the odd undercover agent who was always stationed in some weird location like a mailbox. If you ask me, Murray is perfect for it, will execute it with brilliance and hilarity and I cannot wait, as always, until 2008.

(I also have been seeing previews for Dan In Real Life, another Steve Carell film that’s due out this fall and looks to promise massive amounts of comedy and heart that only Carrell can deliver in the style that he does.)

