Hey, Interns.

I’ve been workin’ hard at not workin’ at all in my lovely week long vacation in good old Los Angeles. It’s been fun and exciting and tiring and excellent.

Fun has been had by all parties and I will soon get around to sharing photos and the like.

The past few days have been filled with friends and family in full holiday frenzy and I’ve definitely been enjoying myself.

I’ve been able to see a few movies that have been on my list and must share little snippets of their goodness with you.

Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street– This was my dad’s pick for a good, wholesome, family fun flick and being that my family tends to have a general appreciation for both Tim Burton and Johnny Depp, it seemed to be a win-win for all parties involved. I thought this film was a lot of fun. Not having known the story of the original play, or any of the music, I was spellbound by Burton’s as always creepy attention to aesthetic details. Depp is phenomenally hilarious and, intriguing and Helena Bonham Carter is a psychotic riot. I was a big fan of this flick, and that’s coming from the girl who would rather do A LOT of things before she watched a musical. However, those who aren’t fans of Burton, Depp or musicals beware.  If you’re not already a fan of Burton and his cinematic stylings, beware. This might be one excruciating blood bath for those who aren’t already on board.

Hot Rod– Holy crap. You dogged this one in theaters, didn’t you? Don’t worry, I did, too and so did the rest of America and I’m kicking myself for it. Seriously, Hot Rod is one of the most absurdly funny movies I’ve ever seen. At times reminding me of Napoleon Dynamite with a moped and others of a really fantastic SNL sketch (go figure), this movie had everyone in my family in stitches over the funny. Andy Samberg is hilarious and I’m pretty sure I’m in love with Bill Hader. I can’t even really describe the movie in a way that’s going to make you want to see it, but the selling point is that if you’re a fan of Samberg and his SNL Digital Short antics (and really, how are you not?), you absolutely must check out this movie. As in, right now.

Juno– LOVED IT! It’s brutally honest and smart, but equally hilarious and sweet. Ellen Page plays quick-witted-16-and-prego-by-George-Michael-Bluth, Juno. Quick witted and adorable, Juno is the coolest 16 going on 35 year old you could ever imagine knowing. After a late-night armchair encounter with her best friend Paulie (Michael Cera), she finds out she’s been accidentally sperminated through a series of pregnancy tests sold to her by Rainn Wilson. Young Juno faces all the challenges of her teen pregnancy, adoption versus abortion, telling her folks the news and eating obscene amounts of food from her school cafeteria, with grace and hilarity and more often than not proves to be one of the only adults on the screen. Her quick wit and smarts on everything from classic punk rock to history makes her easy to fall in love with and adore. Jenny Garner and Jason Bateman play the potential adoptive parents (Vanessa and Mark Loring) and the relationship that blossoms between the Lorings and Juno adds a deeper shade to this otherwise sweet and quirky comedy. All parties involved, well done. Juno delivers on all fronts and truly should not be missed.

Mr. Bean’s Holiday-Paulie Shore and Mr. Bean are my two greatest guilty pleasures when it comes to movies. I am very well aware of the arguments that people have against both of these gentlemen, but truly cannot help but enjoy myself immensely whenever they’re on the screen. Katrine and I have a special bond when it comes to Rowan Atkinson playing Mr. Bean, or any stupid comedic character, and promised that we’d watch this summer’s Bean installment together upon our next reunion. Well, we did and it was hilarious and incredibly entertaining (for us). So, if you like Mr. Bean, do check out this film. If not, don’t, you probably wouldn’t get it anyway 🙂

