Here at the museum we have a great little area called Nature’s Trading Post. It’s a really cool area where kids can bring in things they find out in nature (leaves, rocks, fossils, etc.) and the more they can tell us about the item, the more points they get. They can use these points to “trade” for things at the store like fossils and minerals. It’s a huge hit. It’s also one area of our museum where visitors can touch 99.9% of what they see. That being said, there are a significant amount of items in the Trading Post that are not for sale and are property of the museum.

This morning I was in Nature’s Trading Post and a young boy probably around four asked me what something was. I told him that it was a piece of fossilized coral. He then asked if he could have it and I said, “No, I’m sorry, that’s the museum’s piece.” He then proceeded to sneak to the other side of the room and put the piece of fossilized coral in his pocket Half angry, but mostly in shock, I sat there and watched the kid walk out of Nature’s Trading Post with the coral in his pocket. I mean, really, I didn’t know what I could do and by the time I thought of what I should have done, it was far too late. I couldn’t believe what I had just seen.

Well, well, well! Karma’s a B, my little thieving and conspiring little friend!

Our little Sticky Fingers McGee left behind his Transformer/Alien/Robot toy. And I don’t know if this was a showing of good faith that he was trading that for the fossil, but in any event, it has absolutely no scientific value and therefore receives a point value of zero. You win nothing. Good day, sir!  

And so long as we have illegal trading practices being carried out by such individuals, Alien Prime is officially a POW at my desk and I DO NOT negotiate with NTP Terrorists.

